Connect with us
Now Available On:

Breaking News

APC Wins Imo North Senatorial Rerun Election



Mr Ben Uwajumogu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) have been declared winner of the Imo North Senatorial District rerun election held on Thursday, July 28 by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Uwajumogu polled a total of 56,076 votes to defeat the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Mr Athan Achonu who scored 43,815 votes.

While addressing newsmen in Owerri on Friday over his victory, Mr Uwajumogu could not hide his happiness as he attributed his vicotry to Governor Rochas Okorocha

“My gratitude goes more to Gov. Rochas Okorocha whose structure helped me to win this senatorial election,” he said.

INEC Returning Officer for Imo North Senatorial District, Prof. Arinze Agbogu, who announced the result in the early hours of Friday, said the outcome was a summation of scores of July 23 and that of July 28 exercise.

It would be recalled that in the previous elections that INEC declared inconclusive, Uwajumogu, had 48,921 votes, while his rival Achonu, scored 40,142 votes.

Agbogu said that available data before him showed that the APC candidate had majority of lawful votes cast, and therefore returned elected for the Imo North Senatorial District.

In a related development, Mr Nkenna Nzeruo and Mr Collins Chiji of the APC were also declared winner of Oru East State Constituency and Isiala Mbano State Constituency respectively.

The two state constituency elections were equally declared inconclusive due to reported cases of violence that marred the exercise in some communities in the two areas on July 23.

DISCLAIMER:Opinion articles are solely the responsibility of the author and does not necessarily reflect the views of the publishers of ABN TV

For publication of your news content, articles, videos or any other news worthy materials, please send to [email protected]

For Advert and other info, you can call 07013559600 or send a WhatsApp Message to 07013559600

Please drop your comments below


Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply